add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Building a PC limbo

RezNow
  • 5 months ago

First off, when is the right time to buy and build?

Over the past few weeks/months I have been pushing myself to build the PC of my dreams all for under $2000. But the main complication I run into is the fact that I can make 50 different builds with each of them being better than the other for different reasons. For someone new to PC building this is highly pragmatic because I feel that for the amount that I want to invest in building my future PC, I should be objectively building something that Im CONFIDENT will be 1) future proof and 2) worth the money. The problem is I don't think you can have either of those due to fluctuating/dropping prices.

All of this pushes me to think that because we are on the verge/months away from the next round of GPUs being announced and subsequently released, that I am wasting money on any variation of a build I make today because tomorrow I could do it for hundreds cheaper.

Is the mindset to simply say f*** it, put your head in a hole, and enjoy the current software?

This is my first walk through the gates of PC gaming. Growing up as a slave to the next console, my decisions were made for me and my quality of gaming was static to what the current console generation was offering. With PC gaming always giving you hundreds of options, and just as many wrong ones, I find it difficult to pull the trigger on a build because the overwhelming fear of wasting money on something that will be outdated months after building.