PCPartPicker

• Register

Does having a separate SSD for booting, holding the OS, and using core software/games impact performance?

Forum Search

Guidelines

• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

ragnar-pwninskjold 1 month ago

I'm a bit new to the space, but essentially what I'm asking is whether or not maxing the storage of an SSD impacts noticeably the speed of retrieving contents that are already on the SSD? I guess it makes sense that it would have to crawl through a lot more "spaces" in the SSD to find what its looking for, but is this really noticeable? Would it make sense to have a 250 of 500 GB SSD that has just my OS, some core software, and 2 games I play (to boot from), while maintaining a separate SSD for simply storing things?

Comments Sorted by:

Gilroar 1 Build 1 point 1 month ago

but essentially what I'm asking is whether or not maxing the storage of an SSD impacts noticeably the speed of retrieving contents that are already on the SSD?

Yes. All SSD slow major to massive slowdowns when full depending on how they are built.

Would it make sense to have a 250 of 500 GB SSD that has just my OS, some core software, and 2 games I play (to boot from), while maintaining a separate SSD for simply storing things?

Depends on price as these days you can often pick up a 1tb for cheaper then two 500gb so you want to look at pricing.

ragnar-pwninskjold submitter 1 point 1 month ago

Good point regarding the 1TB drive. Thanks for the input

Rin_Itoh 1 point 1 month ago